Employee Spotlight – Marcie Sims

We’d like to take a moment and recognize the following employee for their years of service and dedication to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

Marcie SimsWhat do you love about working at Green River?
The people: I love the students and working with my amazing colleagues.

What does working in higher education mean to you?
As someone who started my own higher education / college journey at a community college, it felt right and important to me to come back to teaching in a community college and follow my passion.

Where is one spot on campus you find relaxing?
The trails alongside campus are a relaxing place to walk (if it is not pouring outside).

Of all employee benefits, which one do you appreciate most?
I appreciate my medical and retirement benefits that will help both me and my children in the future.

In your role, what accomplishment are you most proud of?
As a long-time tenured faculty member at GRCC I am most proud of the hundreds of students over the years who I have watched get the spark that education, a study of literature, and working on critical thinking and verbal and written communication has brought them.  They shine with these new tools and move forward to a better future.

What is one thing most people don’t know about you?
One thing most people don’t know about is my hobby of stand-up paddle boarding.

If you could swap places with any other position on campus just for one day, what position would that be?
I would swap with the head of the cafeteria so I could create a fun speciality menu for the day: I am a foodie.

What on campus makes you smile the most?
My crazy English Division department meetings make me smile.

What classes on campus have you taken or would you like to take in the future?
I have taken two photography classes, one Chinese class from a visiting Chinese professor, and I would like to take ceramics.

What advice would you give to a brand new employee?
Make time in your busy day to get to know the people on campus and spend some time with them.

Who is one person at Green River you’d like to thank for contributing to your success?
I would like to thank Hank Galmish, who was there when I was hired, served on my tenure committee, and remained an intellectual and teaching mentor for me my entire career–even now though he retired this last ​summer!

Leave a Reply

