Employee Spotlight – Alan Carter

We’d like to take a moment and recognize the following employee for their years of service and dedication to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

Alan CarterWhat do you love about working at Green River?
I love working with all of the great people that work at Green River College. I really like our motto of Think Student, Then Decide.

What does working in higher education mean to you?
Learning and education is very important to me. I love to help people learn IT, and get prepared for a rewarding career in the field.

Where is one spot on campus you find relaxing?
To relax on campus, I love to take a hike on our extensive trail system.

Of all employee benefits, which one do you appreciate most?
Our health care benefits.

In your role, what accomplishment are you most proud of?
Launching the first Bachelor of Applied Science degree at Green River College.

What is one thing most people don’t know about you?
Most people don’t know that I love to read science fiction.

If you could swap places with any other position on campus just for one day, what position would that be?
If it were just for one day, and I could pick the day, I would swap positions with Dr. Ely for Commencement. That has to be the most fulfilling part of our job – seeing the students succeed.

What on campus makes you smile the most?
Watching students working together on projects!

What classes on campus have you taken or would you like to take in the future?
I have taken a Fly Fishing class from continuing education.

What advice would you give to a brand new employee?
Think Student, Then Decide!

Who is one person at Green River you’d like to thank for contributing to your success?
I would like to thank Jeff McCauley for mentoring me and helping me to grow as a teacher and a leader.

Leave a Reply

