New Employee Spotlight – Benjamin Lealofi

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

Benjamin LealofiPlease tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
Talofa, my name is Benjamin Lealofi. I was born and raised in Seattle, WA. I am excited to apply my extensive experience in program management, development and success!

What drew you to apply to Green River?
Green River is a remarkable campus that serves a diverse population. As a staff member of ODEI, I want to help students get acclimated to student life and ensure that they get the services/resources they need for retention and graduation.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
It depends on my mood. I mostly listen to inspirational and upbeat tunes to give me the energy I need to start the day.

What was the very first job you ever had?
I was a weed remover, removing weeds from local elementary schools in the Tukwila School District.

What about your new position are you most excited about?
I am excited to celebrate the diversity programs we have on campus, but also serve students and recognizing their struggles to help them navigate college and be successful in school & life!

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
Produce a system of organizing programs, improve our services, add more partnerships and resources and find a cohesive relationship for staff and students to work towards a common goal and accomplish what was initiated.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?
Graduating 4th in my high school class; attending UW Seattle and being a Gates Millennium Scholar; and loving God and loving people.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be?
“Strictly Bickly”:  I mean business and take NO exceptions, and “Benny”: Because I’m a big teddy bear.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
Poetry, acting singing, dancing, modeling and emceeing :-).

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?
G – Give
R – Respect
E – Everyone/Educate
E – Equity
N – Never (give up)

Leave a Reply

