Employee Spotlight – Julie Moore

We’d like to take a moment and recognize the following employee for their years of service and dedication to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

Julie-Moore-webWhat do you love about working at Green River?
I love the opportunity to continue to grow and learn. My position as English Instructor continually allows me to teach new and innovative classes, take on new aspects of leadership, and collaborate with a variety of others on campus.

What does working in higher education mean to you?
Working in higher education — and especially community college — to me means opportunity. It is the opportunity to learn what you are capable of, grow in new ways, try new things, and get access to places within the professional and social spheres that might not have been available before. I like to think that we are giving this opportunity to students as well as exercising it ourselves.

Where is one spot on campus you find relaxing?
My office on a quiet afternoon after 4 when most of the bustle of morning classes is over. I also love the trails.

Of all employee benefits, which one do you appreciate most?
I suppose the matching benefits for retirement, but health insurance is great, too!

In your role, what accomplishment are you most proud of?
Collaborating with others to bring about innovation and to try new things that are aimed at helping improve student success.

What is one thing most people don’t know about you?
Dare I tell? :)

If you could swap places with any other position on campus just for one day, what position would that be?
President of the College.

What on campus makes you smile the most?
When a student who has been struggling gets a concept. I also love the trees and landscape of our college.

What classes on campus have you taken or would you like to take in the future?
I’d love to take some art classes — photography and ceramics especially.

What advice would you give to a brand new employee?
Be courageous and tenacious. Listen and learn but also be brave enough to voice your own opinions. Look for allies and partners who support you and share your vision. Believe in yourself and in the goodness of those around you.

Who is one person at Green River you’d like to thank for contributing to your success?
Marcie Sims. She has tempered me when my temper flared, taught me when I needed to learn, listened to me when I needed to be heard, and always challenged me to keep reaching to be my best self so I could better serve those around me.

Leave a Reply

