SmartHealth Challenge Accepted!

Challenge

A personal challenge issued by the Governor!

It all started with this postcard in the mail. I’ll be the first to admit I’m not exactly a health nut. I like value meals. I like refilling my soda before leaving Costco. I like sour cream on my tacos. I also…have yet to explore all walking trails across campus. That being said, I do like anything that clearly states I can earn $125! Sign me up! Governor (as in the WA State Governor’s SmartHealth Challenge), you’re on!

Snacks

None of these snacks are officially endorsed by SmartHealth, but all can be found in my desk.

With visions of a $125 incentive applied towards my health coverage deductible for 2016, I logged into the SmartHealth website for the very first time. Registration was no problem at all. Choosing a username however…that was challenging because you want to pick something that sounds cool…but not dated (something like steve2015 would only work for another 9 months after all). “EstebanIsSteve” can now officially be found on the SmartHealth site.

The actual task at hand, completing the Well-being Assessment, took about fifteen minutes. I was a little curious why I was being asked about my career, quality of life, optimism, and blood sugar level (Does anyone really know their blood sugar level?). Whoop! Completing the assessment just earned me 800 points towards that $125 deductible!

Results

79%! That’s it! Perhaps I should have studied before taking the test.

My momentary excitement however shifted towards another feeling. I may have just earned 800 points, but my assessment revealed an overall wellness score of only 79%. That would eat away at any overachiever, right? Am I really just average? Gulp. As it turns out I excelled in “Life Meaning”, “Knowing Yourself”, and “Capacity for Change”, but received lower marks in “Physical”, “Sleep”, and “Nutrition.” Okay…I guess that actually makes sense. I’ve perhaps known this all along. The difference though, is that I had an official result in front of me…in black and white…from the Governor…stating I am below average in several areas of well-being. Let’s just say that being confronted with the truth hurts a tiny bit. Thank you Governor.

Topics

That 7 hours I just slept? That banana I had for breakfast? Yup. Those count towards actual points.

No seriously, thank you Governor. Everyone needs a truth sandwich every now and then. I know I don’t work out enough. I know there are beautiful trails on campus I should be exploring. I know I should not be supersizing my value meal. The good news is that this site also has lots of support, resources, and “Topics” to improve one’s well-being. Every topic you add to your program adds to your overall goal of reaching that $125 deductible. I’ve already added a few topics (Sleep Well, Healthy Start, and Track Your Activity) and am on track to a better me.

Analytics

I just a few clicks I automagically connected my exercise app of choice to SmartHealth.

On a serious note, this process also made me aware of the fact that I really don’t know basic information…about myself. I felt the click of shame every time I had to choose, “I don’t know”,  as an answer. Blood glucose? Cholesterol? Blood pressure? Weight? I don’t know. Am I supposed to know this information? Now, I’m actually thinking of scheduling a doctor’s visit…you know, those things you normally do only when you feel like you’re dying? It’s like I’m actually thinking about my health in a proactive way instead of responding to a situation as it occurs. There is hope for me yet…and an incentive for $125!

P.S. If anyone out there received a score of over 79% please don’t share with me. I already feel self-conscious enough for one week.

Leave a Reply

