New Employee Spotlight – Kimberly Wilson

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

KimPlease tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
Executive Assistant to the Vice President of Instruction and to the Executive Director of Institutional Effectiveness. I have worked in higher education for many years at Tacoma Community College, The University of Texas – Prairie View, A & M University and Saint Martin’s University respectfully.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
Wonderful opportunity, college setting, location.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
R&B, jazz, or nothing at all. I like to be silent sometimes.

What was the very first job you ever had?
A college workstudy job in the Learning Resource Center.

What about your new position are you most excited about?
Meeting new people, learning my job and campus processes, putting my own touches on my responsibilities, updating and organizing.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
Paperless! I would love to have files electronically.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?
College graduation, my kids, me!

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be?
Not sure. I hope it would be something nice or an accurate reflection of my work style and ethics!

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
I just try to be the best person I can be at all times. I don’t sing or tap dance or anything like that but it sounds good.

If G.R.E.E.N. where an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?
Green  River  Education  Excellence  Northwest!

Leave a Reply

