New Employee Spotlight – Amanda Owen

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

Amanda Owen

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
I am the new Financial Aid Program Coordinator and will work as one of the faces of the Financial Aid Office. I am recent graduate of University of Washington Tacoma and received my degree in Business Management with a minor in Education. However, for three years as an undergrad, I also worked in UWT’s writing center as a writing consultant. I worked one on one with students through consultations about their academic writing and grew to love working in higher education.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
I applied for Green River because I have a desire to work in higher education. I want to work with students and help them throughout their pursuit of their degrees. Additionally, I grew up in Auburn so I have seen how important Green River is for the Auburn community. I am excited that I get to help further that impact.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
If I am not listening to my iPod then my radio station is most likely on 103.7 reliving all of the songs I grew up with.

What was the very first job you ever had?
My first job was working as a cashier/clerk at Bartell Drugs. It was my first and last retail job ;)

What about your new position are you most excited about?
I am most excited to interact with students each day and to help them receive financial aid that they may not have known existed.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
I would love to increase student satisfaction with the help and information they receive at the financial aid office.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?
The three accomplishments I am most proud of is graduating cum laude in four years at UWT, being promoted to Lead Writing Consultant at my previous job, and giving a presentation at the PNWCC about a white board project that I had implemented.

If your former coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be?
I’ve never been a nickname person so I can’t come up with anything, sorry!

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
Unfortunately, I don’t have any of the typical talents that are often displayed in talent shows, but I can do some jump rope tricks, so I would probably showcase those.

If G.R.E.E.N. where an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?
Giving  Really  Enthusiastic  Explanations  Now

Leave a Reply

