New Employee Spotlight – Leda Voigt

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

Voigt, Leda Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.

I am the new Controller in the Business Office. I have over 10 years of accounting experience working in various industries including Real Estate, Public Accounting, Government, and Education.

What drew you to apply at Green River?

I attended GRC as a running start student and when I saw the job listing, I thought this was an opportunity I could not pass up.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?

My iPod, it is an eclectic mix of classic to current music.

What was the very first job you ever had?

I worked at a local pizza place. Pizza is still one of my favorite foods! :)

What is it about your new position that is most exciting for you?

I’m most excited about the opportunity to meet and collaborate with others in the same field. We are very fortunate to be a part of a network of colleges, whom we can share ideas with on a regular basis.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?

Prepare a Financial Statement from start to finish, including pulling data from the accounting system.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

The three accomplishments I am most proud of is earning a Master of Accountancy degree, becoming a licensed CPA and my recent 30lbs. weight loss.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be?

Betty Crocker – I love to bake and entertain.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?

I think tap dance would be my hidden talent, although it has been more than 15 years since the last time I tap danced.

If G.R.E.E.N. where an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?

Great Recipe that Everyone will Eat and Need

Leave a Reply

