Employee Spotlight – Denise Bennatts

We’d like to take a moment and recognize the following employee for their years of service and dedication to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

Denise Bennatts

What do you love about working at Green River?
I love the people contact. I work with students, staff and faculty and I enjoy the mix.

What does working in higher education mean to you?
I have worked in higher education for more than 35 years. Everyone deserves an education and Green River has many opportunities to help educate our community.

Where is one spot on campus you find relaxing?
Green River has beautiful walking trails through the woods. It is a wonderful and relaxing experience.

Of all employee benefits, which one do you appreciate most?
The WA state space-available waivers for college classes. It’s a great deal for staff to earn a degree or build their job skills.

In your role, what accomplishment are you most proud of?
Our motto is “Think Student, Then Decide!” and I am very proud to say we live this motto every day in my office.

What is one thing most people don’t know about you?
I am an animal lover. Especially cats!

If you could swap places with any other position on campus just for one day, what position would that be?
I know the positions I would not want…Deb Casey, Derek Brandes, Dr. Ely…too much stress! I have to say, I love my position as registrar. It is the perfect position assisting students and faculty alike.

What on campus makes you smile the most?
Students! Also, our bookstore contains some pretty neat stuff for students and staff.

What classes on campus have you taken or would you like to take in the future?
I received my AA degree from Green River many ions ago.

What advice would you give to a brand new employee?
Green River offers many opportunities for students and staff. Take advantage of the opportunities! Go to workshops, join committees, get involved.

Who is one person at Green River you’d like to thank for contributing to your success?
Dick Barclay and Mike McIntyre. Two great men very dedicated to community college.

Leave a Reply

