New Employee Spotlight – Lionel Candido

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

Lionel CandidoPlease tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
I am the new addition to the iGrad family. My official title is iGrad Case Manager. After graduating from the University of Washington in 2010, I started working for a non-profit in the area called Friends of Youth. I started as a Residential Bilingual Youth Counselor and was shortly promoted to the Program Supervisor for one of their residential programs. While working at Friends of Youth, I also worked at Auburn Youth Resources as an on-call staff for a couple of their shelter programs.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
I loved residential work but the hours were crazy. Having to be on-call every minute of the day and getting called in to cover a shift for one of my staff members was taking a toll on my personal life. I wanted a new job that would allow me to work more traditional hours so that I can have more time to spend with my now 4 year old son and 2 month old daughter; while at the same time working with young adults to help them figure out this thing we call life.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
Well staying true to my Latino roots, I love myself some bachata music. If I’m not listening to that then my radio is most likely on 92.5 getting a good laugh in with their morning prank calls that they do.

What was the very first job you ever had?
Both of my parents were agricultural workers so they would always take me and my siblings to the fields to help them out. I have very fond memories of picking cherries every summer while working on my tan!

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
What I’m most excited about is directly working with the population that our program works with. Our population is so diverse that you never really know what situation is going to walk through the door. I like it….keeps my job exciting!

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
I would love to continue to build my rapport with our students so that they eventually know that they have a support system in place that truly wants to see them succeed. I’m really excited to see them achieve their goals.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?
Two of them would be my two beautiful kids, Lionel Jr. and Anali. The third would be being the first to go to college and to graduate. I wanted to show my siblings that it could be done, with our background, and the potential lifestyle that they can live if they choose to pursue higher education.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be?
I’m not quite sure what it would be. I asked them and they couldn’t think of anything.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
I love to dance so I would probably show off some of my dance moves.

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?
G.ive , R.espect, E.ducate, E.quity, N.ourish

Leave a Reply

