Free Online Writing Class!

Posted on behalf of Jean Sheadel. Thanks for sharing Jean! 

Wordsmithing, various style guides, grammar police, punctuation problems, not to mention spelling mistakes – there’s so much involved in writing, and writing correctly! Some of us have a hard time not proofing periodicals and books while we’re reading.

AP Style Highlights

Some of the many tools in my AP arsenal.

One of the best training sessions I ever attended was a writing class I took while working for the Kent School District. The class reviewed the most common writing mistakes – including grammar, punctuation and commonly misused words. The content was similar to the book, Eats, Shoots & Leaves, by Lynne Truss.

AP Style Thinking

Who wrote this stuff anyways..? Oh, that would be me.

Knowing this, I don’t think it would surprise you to know that I occasionally search the internet for training to improve my writing skills. I recently found a gem: Poynter. News University’s FREE, online class, “Cleaning Your Copy: Grammar, Style and More.” Based on the AP Style Guide, the style guide used by Green River’s marketing department, I’m finding this course to be not only a refresher, but a useful learning tool. I’m certain that this class will help me in my day-to-day writing for the website, and for proofing college-related material.

Course Website Screenshot

This $29.95 course is free of charge thanks to the support of Knight Foundation.

If someone finds another (free) training course, I’d love to know about it!

Leave a Reply

