New Employee Spotlight – Melissa Archuleta

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

Melissa ArchuletaPlease tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
I am the new Program Coordinator in Student Life. I work mainly with clubs and organizations in handling paperwork and budgets. Prior to coming to Green River, I worked as the Graduate Assistant in the International Student Center at Seattle University and in the Student Life office at Tacoma Community College.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
What drew me to Green River was the opportunity to work with a diverse population of students and alongside colleagues who are dedicated to serving students.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
I am a radio-channel surfer. I scan for a song that I want to listen to. But if I give up on that, I’m usually listening to a Justin Timberlake album.

What was the very first job you ever had?
The first job I have ever had was on a military base in Germany. I was in high school and worked in an office that housed boxes and boxes of old maps. My job was to catalogue them and file them away.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
I’m excited for the opportunity to work with students and to encourage them to reach their goals.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
An overall goal is to continuously improve my leadership and advising skills.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

  •  I’m proud to be the first college graduate in my family.
  • Of seeing how hard my siblings work to be successful in their educational goals.
  • And of my parents who work hard to support the family and who also are both continuing their education.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be?
I’m not sure. In prior positions my coworkers called me “Archie.” How that came about, I’m not sure, but it stuck.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?

I’m fluent in movie lines. I can recite the entire “How the Grinch Stole Christmas” with Jim Carey.

If G.R.E.E.N. where an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?
G-gratitude. R-rewarding. E-educate. E-enjoy. N-network.

Leave a Reply

