New Employee Spotlight – James Mascenik

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

James MascenikPlease tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
Hi! My name is Jim Mascenik and I’m the new Director of Institutional Assessment, Evaluation and Analysis at GRC. Most of my professional experience has been institutional research and assessment. With no doubt, my true passion is in the assessment of student learning. To prepare myself for this type of work, I completed graduate degrees in both Educational Research and Psychology.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
I was drawn to Green River because of the wide range of educational opportunities that the college provides to the region. Community colleges play a major role in improving the quality of life for so many individuals and this is a mission that I always greatly respected.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
I listen to both alternative and classical music – interesting dichotomy!

What was the very first job you ever had?
My first job was the painting of bleachers for the Parks and Recreation Department in Linden, New Jersey. This was a summer job I had between the 7th and 8th grades. In retrospect, it’s a funny realization that many people sat on my best work.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
My position enables me to work with so many different types of individuals across the campus – administrators, faculty and staff. It is my hope that I am helping others to better understand and implement meaningful assessment activities.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
I would like to improve upon the assessment activities that are already taking place at the college. These improvements will include greater clarity, consistency, and use of results to improve future student learning outcomes. I also would like to reduce the amount of “mystery” and unneeded complexity that still persists in some assessment processes.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?
(1) Completing college (2) Convincing my wife to marry me (3) Escaping from New Jersey

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be?
For ironic reasons, it would be “Loudmouth Jim” because of my quiet demeanor.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
I enjoy acting. For some reason, introverts still need to have their time in the spot light :-)

If G.R.E.E.N. where an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for? Genuine Reasonably priced Educational Experiences Needed by all, provided only at GRC!

Leave a Reply

