New Employee Spotlight – Michelle Stanley

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

Stanley, Michelle

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
Hello! My name is Michelle Stanley, and I am the new Fiscal technician in the Accounts Receivable/Cashiering department. After graduating from Western Washington University I began my career in teaching. I taught 4th grade for almost 4 years, the last few years teaching math.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
After working in elementary education I realized that it didn’t match my personal and career goals. I am still interested in working in an educational institution and what better place than Green River!

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
In the car I usually begin my car ride with a prayer to start my day. Typically the rest of the car ride involves listening to classical music.

What was the very first job you ever had?
My first job was working for the Seattle Mariners. My position was called a fielder. I passed out the freebies at the gates, took photos of fans at the games, and worked supervising the “Moose Den” where fans came to meet the Mariner’s Moose.

What about your new position are you most excited about?
There are many things I am excited about at Green River. I am excited to learn new skills and begin a new career path. I’m excited to meet and interact with new people and support those around me. Also, deepening my computer skills and working in a beautiful environment and atmosphere!

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
One thing I would love to accomplish in my first year at Green River is deepen my understanding of computer skills, and learning different accounting programs.

 What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?
Three things I am most proud of in my life are: I graduated college early, bought my first house when I was 22, and I am about to get married to my wonderful fiancé!

If your former coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be? Why?
My former coworkers might nickname me as “Mrs. Stanley’s daughter”. The school I worked at actually was the same school I attended when I was a child. Coincidentally my mom also taught at the same school.  Many students at the school didn’t realize that we were related, mostly because I don’t look much like my mom. Kids would always be in awe knowing that Mrs. Stanley is my mom!

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
As my talent I would showcase my cooking as my talent at the Green River talent show. I enjoy finding new recipes (Pinterest inspiration) and trying new recipes. Cooking is almost as good as eating!

If G.R.E.E.N. where an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?
G-
giving opportunities, R-realistic, E- enlighten, E- equitable education, N- new beginnings

Leave a Reply

