New Employee Spotlight – Kowsar Abshir

Abshir-KowsarWe’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
My name is Kowsar Abshir and I’m a Program Support Supervisor with the Outreach and Service Learning Department. I am committed to the power of Education in transforming lives.

Prior to coming to Green River Community College my professional life was centered on empowering my community through employment, educational training and housing resources. I have always been blessed with support from exceptional mentors, family, friends and community. My desire is to give back the same support and encouragement to the students of Green River College.  I come to Green River College with more than three years of advocacy, outreach and recruitment experience and have a degree in English, Professional and Technical Writing from the Washington State University.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
My commitment to student success aligns with Green River’s core themes of increasing student Access, Success and Equity.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
Some days I listen to the Quran and other days I play random stations on Pandora.

What was the very first job you ever had?
I got my first job when I was 14 years old as a Community Mapper.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
My new job allows me to utilize my already established non-profit partnerships while broadening my network with all service providers and academic institutions. I am excited about my new position because there are always new opportunities and projects to engage in and new things to learn.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
I would love to increase Full Time Enrollment numbers for the college.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?
1) Earning the College Success Foundation Achievers Scholarship during high school.
2) Earning my Bachelors Degree.
3) Learning the first couple of chapters of the Holy Quran.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be?
Great question, you would have to ask them.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
Cooking.

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?
Global. Robust. Engagement. Envision. Network.

Leave a Reply

