New Employee Spotlight – Gregg Sapp

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

Gregg SappPlease tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
I was hired as the Manager of the Washington Integrated Sector Employment (WISE) grant, a Department of Labor Trade Adjustment Assistance Community College Career Training (TAACCCT) grant. Therefore, my official job title is WISE Grant Manager. Hey, if the acronym fits, wear it.

Prior to accepting this position, I was the manager of another TAACCCT grant at Clover Park Technical College, this one for training in fields related to health information technology. Most of my background is in library administration and management, and I’ve worked in academic libraries from Montana State University, to the University of Miami (FL), to the State University of New York in Albany.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
Primarily, I was attracted to the opportunity that this job provided. Upon doing some research, I became very impressed with Green River’s close linkages to the Auburn/ Kent communities and the breadth of it programmatic offerings.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
I drive all the way from Olympia. On the way to work, I toggle between sports radio, National Public Radio, and (guilty pleasure) Howard Stern. Returning home, I listen to audio books (currently, “Atlantic” by Simon Winchester), until I cross the Nisqually Bridge, then listen to Bluegrass Junction on satellite radio the rest of the way.

What was the very first job you ever had?
At twelve, I was a paperboy, delivering the Columbus (OH) Citizen Journal.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
I strongly believe in the opportunities provided by the Department of Labor’s TAACCCT program and look forward to continuing to work to provide training for in-demand, living wage jobs. It makes a real difference in peoples’ lives.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
The WISE grant has an ambitious timeline which, during the first year, will result in the creation of a new certificate program for technical Customer Service Representatives. I like to provide value-added to these programs, and along those lines I have a particular interest in online curricula and Open Education Resources.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?
My father used to say that you should try to do three things every day – something practical, something helpful, and something fun. If I live up to that philosophy every day, then I feel like I’ve accomplished something.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be?
I have been called “Scoop,” which I hope is due to my journalistic and editorial experience and not an ironic reference to anything that might be disposed of by “scooping.”

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
I’d like to play the lead role in the one-man show “Mark Twain Tonight.”

Also, as a shameless plug, I’d like to mention that my first novel, “Dollarapalooza,” was published in 2011 by Switchgrass Books of Northern Illinois University Press. I’ve just finished a new novel based upon the life of Johnny Appleseed, and I’m looking for a publisher.

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?
Great Resources for Educating and Enlightening Neighbors? Or, since the first three letters of “GREEN” are the first three letters of my name, so, as I start this new job, I can hope that GREgg Enters Nirvana.

Leave a Reply

