New Employee Spotlight -Dan Hodges

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

Hodges-DanPlease tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
I will be the new Facilities Manager. I have more than 30 years of experience working in facilities management. I have a wide-range of experience in construction, maintenance, HVAC, fire sprinkler systems, building and mechanical codes. Most of my years of experience have been in banking facilities management, retirement / independent care / assisted living environmental services, and most recently retail mall operations management.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
I have heard great things about Green River Community College. I applied here because I have the experience and skills to make a direct contribution at GRCC and desire to grow and challenge myself while making a difference in a diverse workplace.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
KIRO Talk Radio. I am an information junkie and love to learn about new things. The talk radio station talks about current events, controversial topics, economic issues, and world news.

What was the very first job you ever had?
I worked at Wick’s lumberyard in Reedley, California. I was a “Green Stacker”. I stacked the green lumber that was very heavy, and no one else wanted the job.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
I am excited about the opportunity to share my knowledge and to establish facilities processes that will benefit the facilities team and the organization. I am also excited about the opportunity to develop and be a part of the facilities team.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
I would like to do a complete analysis of all facilities and equipment, create and standardize a Preventative Maintenance program, set up processes and procedures that will increase efficiency and effectiveness of the facilities team while maintaining budget.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?
I earned my U.S. Citizenship when I was 17 years old,I got married to my first wife, and have continued to be married to her for the last 32 years, and I am a father of one daughter and one son.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be?
My nickname would be “Mr. Particular”, because I like to have things done right, and I have a high standard.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
I could do some “Black-Smith” work.

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?
G
row Respect Every Environments Needs

Leave a Reply

