New Employee Spotlight -Marc Milsten

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

Milsten-MarcPlease tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
My new title is Coordinator of International Recreation & Activities. As a student, I studied abroad 6 different times. After graduating from PLU with a degree in Business Administration, I eventually found my way to Japan where I taught English on the JET (Japan Exchange & Teaching) Program. I continued teaching in Japan for a total of 7 ½ years in a variety of positions, most notably as part of a pilot program placing native English teachers in public schools. After returning to the US, I’ve been working in the International Programs office at North Seattle College coordinating the Short-Term International Programs.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
The opportunity to combine two things I love: recreation/athletics and international education was incredibly appealing.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
Usually Sports Talk Radio or a Podcast, but sometimes I’ll listen to Country, Classic Rock or 90’s Hip-Hop.

What was the very first job you ever had?
As a student, I worked at a moving company during summers and weekends.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
Creating activities and events to help international students enjoy their college experience at Green River is something I’m very excited about. I know first-hand how much of an impact a positive international experience can be in a person’s life, so I hope to create amazing opportunities for the international students at Green River.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
To create a variety of recreational and athletics programs that fill a gap in the college experience for international and domestic students alike. The first of which is a competitive soccer program that continues to grow in size, quarter after quarter.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?
1) Having an incredible relationship with my immediate and extended family.
2) Traveling and living abroad in Finland at the age of 15.
3) Creating a lasting connection with so many of my students and coworkers in Japan.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be?
Marc-san, because I tend to talk about my time in Japan a bit too much.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
I can whistle like a fire cracker.

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?
G – Genuine (Genuinely care for the students, their well-being and success)
R – Resources (Providing resources for success: educational, professional & personal)
E – Exciting (In and outside of the classroom)
E – Educational (Also, in and outside of the classroom)
N – Nexus (The point where different things or ideas come together and intersect)

Leave a Reply

