New Employee Spotlight – Allen Brewer

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.Allen Brewer
Custodian 2 is my new position. From 2001 until 2013, I worked as a custodian at Whitman College in Walla Walla, Washington.  Most recently I have been working in the same capacity at the Bellevue Club up in Bellevue, Washington.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
My wife and I recently moved from Renton down to the Auburn area and I wanted to feel more connected to the local community. When searching for a potential position in the area I stumbled onto the Green River College web site.  After looking at the available jobs, seeing the custodial listing and a drive up the hill to the campus for a quick look, I felt like this would be a good fit and submitted an application.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
Mike and Mike. ESPN sports talk radio.

What was the very first job you ever had?
A dishwasher at a local restaurant.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
I like getting to meet new people, like the students I worked for and around at my previous college work experience.  Every year as I say goodbye to current friends, a new group enters my life.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
Learn as much as I can from my fellow employees and the students in hopes of making a positive difference in at least one person’s life every day.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?
Marrying my wife, the birth of my children and seeing them marry the one person who makes them the happiest they could ever be with another person.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be?
Old Reliable. I hardly ever get sick and always show up on time for all of my obligations.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
Balance a stack of coins on the back of my forearm and then catch them all before they hit the ground.

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?

Growing

Reliable

Environmental

Education

Nationally

Leave a Reply

