New Employee Spotlight – Leilani Hoglund

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

Leilani HoglundPlease tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
My new title is Budget Coordinator Administrative Assistant 3. I worked in Payroll for several years at Alaska Airlines, Coinstar and SunGro Horticulture. I went back to school to get my Medical Assistant Degree at Highline Community College. I then decided I wanted to go into Nursing, so I enrolled at Green River College, graduated in 2012 and transferred to The Evergreen State College to get my Bachelor’s in Public Administration. I started working for Washington Student Achievement Council in the Gear Up Program and then transferred to Washington State Parks and Recreation and have been there for the past two years, working as an Admin Assistant for the SW Region Capital Program.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
I enjoyed my time as a student and part-time employee working at Green River! My time spent in the Office of Diversity and Multicultural Affairs, as a Peer Navigator and working in the ESOL Program, helped me realize how much I enjoy helping others to succeed. I like to help others and to show others how to help themselves and it is the most rewarding thing to struggle as a student and when you finally pass that class or graduate, it is such a wonderful feeling!

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
While I was still in school and commuting over an hour just to get to work and school, I often would listen to audio books on my way to work. I enjoy listening to all types of music preferably on Pandora or personal CD’s, I don’t really like listening radio station commercials.

What was the very first job you ever had?
My very first jobs were working for Golden Spoon Frozen Yogurt during the week at 14 years of age and working for a Survey company counting cigarette sales around Southern California on the weekends.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
Performing complex tasks and detail-driven projects and providing administrative support to the library and media services. Another exciting factor is my commute, I currently drive 62 miles one way to get to work and my new commute will only be 6.2 miles one way!

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
I would love to accomplish mastering my new job duties and responsibilities so that I can be an asset to my department and team. I would also love to accomplish furthering my own education in Professional Career Development and working on my Master’s Degree.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?
My first and second accomplishments would be my two daughters LeilahRose and Isabella. My third accomplishment would be the fact that I did not give up on getting my Bachelor’s degree even though I was in two car accidents, scared to drive to school and work every day.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be?
“Islander” because I love anything having to do with the islands, tropical beach, sun and water!

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
Playing a bass guitar, saxophone or water jugs.

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?
Get Rich Easily Education Necessary
Green River Educates Everyone Now

G-get
R-ready
E-energize
E-everyone
N-nearby

Leave a Reply

