New Employee Spotlight – Jordan Tjoelker

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.

Jordan TjoelkerI am the new Bookstore Manager Assistant. Previously I was a manager for McLendon Hardware, a local home improvement store.

What drew you to apply to Green River?

I liked the idea of working at a college, surrounded by people who are trying to improve their lives.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?

I listen to rock, alternative, and folk rock. I tend to switch between whatever local stations are not playing commercials. I sing badly daily, Carpoolers beware.

What was the very first job you ever had?

Starting the summer when I was 13 I picked berries during the day and loaded hay at night.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?

I am looking forward to getting to know the team at the bookstore. I have been working for quite awhile in the home improvement business and am ready to try something else.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?

In my first year at Green River I would like to take a class or two.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

I am lucky to have found my soul mate in junior high and we have been together for 15 years, I put a new engine in my car with only videos from YouTube and online discussion forums, and I make some pretty awesome tacos.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be?

Captain Hammer, I’m good at fixing stuff, I’m here to save the day.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?

I enjoy building and gardening. I would build and plant a garden box.

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?

Reading Encourages Excellent Nerdfighters.

Leave a Reply

