New Employee Spotlight – Rebeka Ferreira


We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background. Ferreira, Rebeka3

Hello, my name is Rebeka Ferreira and I have just been hired as the new full-time tenure-track Philosophy Instructor beginning Fall 2015. I studied philosophy and received my Master’s degree from San Francisco State University in 2012 where I primarily focused on traditional, religious, and virtue epistemology as well as philosophy of religion. Prior to being hired full-timer, I taught as an adjunct instructor of philosophy here at Green River for three years; as well as at Highline College, South Seattle College, Oregon Institute of Technology, and South Puget Sound Community College (sometimes all at once).

What drew you to apply to Green River?

Green River, by far, has the most extensive course offerings in philosophy at the junior college level. This along with the number of relationships I have made over the course of my adjunct career made Green River very appealing.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?

My radio is broken :( one of the first things to fix with a new salary.

What was the very first job you ever had?

I waited tables towards the end of high school and all through college: at El Camino Community College in southern California, as well as through undergrad and graduate school in San Francisco.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?

I am very passionate about reinvigorating the relevance of philosophy (as well as the Humanities more generally) in people’s everyday lives as well as academic pursuits. I would like to utilize the pedagogical resources available to full-time faculty to assist in pursuit of this goal.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?

I would like to see enrollment in philosophy courses grow to point that we are no longer cancelling classes (and in the future I would like to see the department offer more courses than we already do).

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

Having worked full-time through college to the extent that I paid my own way without having to take out any student loans, having earned my master’s degree and continuing my education at the University of Washington (when I have the time), and having been hired full-time after four years of teaching at numerous colleges.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be?

Not sure, maybe smiley. I smile a lot.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?

I can do the worm… but that is about it :)

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?

G – great faculty and staff

R – reactive to change

E – energetic campus

E – enthusiastic students

N – noteworthy programs

Leave a Reply

