New Employee Spotlight – Geoff Palmer

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.Palmer, Geoff3

I am happy to report that I am a full time tenure-track faculty in Sociology. I began teaching college classes in Sociology at the University of Washington in 2010 and I have been teaching at North Seattle College since 2012. I am ecstatic to bring that experience to work for the students at Green River College.

What drew you to apply to Green River?

Green River College has a strong reputation for collegiality and a dedication to student success. These values harmonize strongly with my own, and so when I saw that a position opened I had to apply.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?

The answer to this changes all the time because I’m a big fan of variety. Sometimes I listen to the morning news, other times I switch on the Wolf to hear some country pop, and other times I dig deep into the archives to bring some James Brown or some Charles Mingus to the morning ride. When I’m feeling indecisive, I let Pandora do the selecting for me. The one song that will never, ever, ever play during my morning commute is John Cage’s 4’33”.

What was the very first job you ever had?

My first paid position was at Dick’s Drive-In in Seattle on Holman Road. My first task was bun-sorting.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?

One of my favorite things to do is to meet new people and share ideas, experiences, and stories. So far, I’ve found the folks at Green River to be most excellent, and I can’t wait to meet and work with all the other students, staff, administration and faculty!

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?

This is a tough question because there are a lot of things I would like to do. That being said, a primary goal of mine is to learn about the population at GRC and fine-tailor my curriculum to meet your needs. Sociology is all about the study of the relationship between individuals and society, and I want to make this subject fascinating by connecting it to your lives.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

Hmmm…another tough question. I don’t always think in terms of pride, but if I had to choose, I would say that the three accomplishments that engender the most pride for me are (not in order) placing third in my age bracket at the Nintendo World Championships Seattle, earning the Master’s Degree, and being selected for the job at Green River College!

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be?

Oh my gosh. I have no idea. Can I check back in with you in a month? I bet that I’ll have a nickname by then.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?

I would have to play my own interpretation of Disney’s A Whole New World on my guitar. I’d sing both parts.

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?

I think GREEN is an acronym for many things ranging from political to business groups. That being said, if I had to make something up off the cuff, I would go with Graze Right: Eat Excess Nutella!

Leave a Reply

