New Employee Spotlight – Josh Archer

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.Archer, Josh2

I am an Information Technology Instructor in Software Development. My research interests include algorithm analysis, graph theory, data structure design, database design and web development.

I have a Bachelor’s and Master’s degree in Computer Science. After finishing my degree I worked for four years as a web developer for Highline College working on their English as a Second Language (ESL) website. I also taught full-time at Highline for four years, teaching their beginning classes in Java, introduction to Computer Science and Web Development courses

What drew you to apply to Green River?

I heard that Green River has fantastic people working in their IT Department! I’ve known one of them for four years!

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?

I listen primarily to talk radio or once in a while an audio-book. I don’t spend much time listening to music.

What was the very first job you ever had?

I had a paper route in Lakewood WA. It was dangerous at times! (ask me about this)

What about your new position is most exciting for you?

I will get the opportunity to teach Bachelor’s level classes in software design!

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?

I want to get to know my department and the students in our Bachelor’s program. I also want to get to know the layout of Campus. I feel lost so far!

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

  1. Finishing my Bachelor’s and Master’s degree!
  2. Meeting and marrying my wife!
  3. Becoming a teacher and realizing that this is really where my heart is!

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be?

I already have a nickname “Archer.” This is because we have another Josh in our division.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?

I can play guitar pretty well!

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?

G- Graduating!

R- Ready!

E- Energetic!

E- Eager!

N- Networking!

 Good attributes to have when searching for a software development position!

Leave a Reply

