New Employee Spotlight – Ian Sherman-Youngblood

Sherman-Youngblood, Ian3We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.

I’m a tenure-track English instructor. Currently I work at Olympic College as a tenured English instructor and coordinator of the English discipline. I have been there for eight years–it was my first full-time teaching job, though I taught as an adjunct for a few years, including here at Green River.

What drew you to apply to Green River?

My commute to OC was coming to feel more and more taxing. In addition, I’d been snapped up into leadership positions requiring of me greater and greater presence on campus. It was a really unmanageable combination.

I ran into Jaeney Hoene and some other GRCC staff and faculty at a Community College Humanities Association conference, and she mentioned the new position opening in English. I always looked back fondly upon my time at GRCC, so I applied when the opportunity arose.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?

I’ve been doing a ferry commute for eight years and I usually don’t listen to anything–I read or grade. This will be my first real car commute in over a decade, so it’s time to invest in some equipment. I’m told Amazon has a service that coordinates ebooks with audiobooks–that sounds lovely! Otherwise, blues and soul.

What was the very first job you ever had?

Digging something, but I don’t remember what, for a neighbor. In terms of jobs not paid with pocket change, I processed returns at Toys R Us. I sent broken toys to their deaths, popping a giant yellow “TO BE DESTROYED” sticker on the side of the box. No joke. I’m sure they recycle now.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?

In my interview, I asked the panel to talk about the overall feeling of the English division–everyone had something to say, and all of it sounded so welcoming.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?

I have been working on a few article ideas–one on mindfulness in the classroom, and one on native English speakers’ attitudes to their language–and I would like to use the reflective space that the tenure process creates to try to research and write these.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

You all don’t pull any punches, do you? OK.

1) As I’m from a town of 150 people in Northern Nevada, I’m very proud that I got out–and ended up spending two years teaching abroad (in Russia and Turkey).

2) I’m very proud of all I accomplished at Olympic–I leave there knowing they are in a better place than when I arrived.

3) I am part of a beautiful, complicated, and unique family–my husband and I are both donor fathers to the same couple. Our boys are each related to us in turn, but they are also brothers–they have the same birth mother. We are part of their lives, and our big, complicated family is so beautiful.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be?

Nope. Nicknames are earned, never self-generated. You all will have to answer this one for me!

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?

I do a mean karaoke rendition of “Keep Your Hands to Yourself” by Georgia Satellites.

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?

An acronym for a team of super villains: Get Rid of Each and Every Nice guy.

An acronym for an unusually strict Japanese-ish diet plan: Garlic, Ramps, Eel, Enoki, and Natto. Actually, except for the natto, that sounds delicious.

An acronym for an overly-concerned mother’s note to her daughter, of poor eyesight, leaving home for the first time: Get Regular Eye Exams, Nancy!

Leave a Reply

