New Employee Spotlight – Nelson Phouphokone

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.Phouphakone, Nelson2

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.

I am a One-Year Temporary Math Instructor.  I got my Bachelor in Electrical Engineering at University of Washington and my Master in Mathematics at Washington State University.  I am working as a part-time instructor after I got my Master degree.  When I was a part-timer, I worked for North Seattle College, South Seattle College, Highline College and of course, Green River College.

What drew you to apply to Green River?

I have been working as a part-time instructor for Green River College for 9 years.  I love the environment around the school.  Sometimes, I would walk on the trail in the forest.  However, I love the most is the atmosphere of the Math department.  When I come to work, I don’t feel like I go to a working place.  I feel like I am coming back home.  Everyone is like a family.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?

I like listening to Chinese songs and the radio, 106.9.

What was the very first job you ever had?

I was a PC technician.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?

I think the most exciting thing about the job is I could have a lot of time to know my students and to help them when they needed me.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?

I would like to learn how to be a full time instructor.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

Receiving my Master degree

Marrying with my wife

Being a Math instructor

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be?

Polo man, since I love to wear a Polo shirt.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?

I could be a singer.

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?

Green River Excellent Education iNstitution

Leave a Reply

