New Employee Spotlight -Adam Waters

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.Waters, Adam

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.

This year I started as the new full time Professor for the Design and Drafting department at Green River. I’ve been formally trained as an educator and as a drafter. When I was younger, I spent the time studying Electro-mechanical engineering until I discovered I was much more passionate about helping others reach their potential. I transitioned to teaching and that has become a focal point of my life. I spent a few years in teaching math in Arizona but grew disillusioned with the rigors of state testing and moved to Spain to teach English to adults. Though the change was motivating, I returned and started a new career, walking down a familiar pathway, as a drafter. And now, I’m excited to start my new path here as a Professor at Green River.

What drew you to apply to Green River?

It was an obvious choice to apply to Green River. The Drafting program is one of the best in the Pacific Northwest and I loved the atmosphere around the school. Everyone has been friendly, helpful and dedicated to making the school a better place for the students. This is exactly the environment that I have been looking for in a career.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?

I bounce back and forth between keeping up with news on NPR, comedy stations on Pandora, or listening to a song I can’t get out of my head over and over and over again, ad nauseam.

What was the very first job you ever had?

When I was 13 (or possibly 12) I worked as a water slide attendant just across from the beach in Rhode Island. Even though it was exciting to say “Go, stay tucked” repeatedly, while the hot sun and warm chlorinated water rejuvenated my skin, I didn’t think the ‘all clear’ whistle really rounded out my full potential.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?

The most exciting piece of the new position is the having the ability to interact with many people and help them get back up and on their own feet. The drafting program has an excellent track record of getting students trained and out into the workforce with the tools they need to succeed. I’m excited about helping them achieve what will make them happy.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?

I’d like to start with small goals before expanding to larger long term goals. I’m very interested in collaborating with other departments around campus to integrate the technology in our department with others design ideas to facilitate the critical thinking skills required of our students in the real world. Though this is also a long term goal, I plan to network and begin these conversations this year.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

I’m proud that this is the most difficult question that I have to answer on this “New Employee” Interview. My father never raised me to be a boastful human being and this has stuck with me, possibly even to a detriment. However I’m most proud that I was able to save his life from cancer with a critical bone marrow transplant, an act I will never forget.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be?

I’ve never had a nickname in my life that’s stuck for more than a few weeks or with more than 1 person. I’m not opposed to nicknames but I would have no idea what I would give myself.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?

As I’ve done for most of the talent shows in my life, I would likely sit on the back of the stage and bang out a good rhythm on the drum set while some other very talented people ‘wow the crowd’ with classic 80’s hair band style guitar poses.

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?

“Tonight on Master Chef, G.R.E.E.N!” – Gordon Ramsey effectively eats nougat.

Or if you meant it to be more about Green River:

Green River:  Generating Renowned Energetic Erudite Nerds

Leave a Reply

