New Employee Spotlight – Sarah Edwards

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.Edwards, Sarah

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.

I’m now full-time faculty in the math department. I’ve spent the last five years as an adjunct here at Green River, and before that I spent a year in Honduras teaching sixth grade to middle schoolers (in English, although my Spanish also got much better during that year!).

What drew you to apply to Green River?

I’d already spent five years here in a great and very supportive department, so applying for a full-time position was the next natural step.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?

On the ride in, nothing, because I am still waking up. On the ride home, usually either the classical station or a podcast. Right now I’m working through one called Rachel and Miles X-Plain the X-Men – if you ever wanted someone to guide you through the ridiculousness that is the X-Men comics universe, I recommend it!

What was the very first job you ever had?

Subway! I still know exactly how many meatballs and pieces of cheese go on a six-inch

What about your new position is most exciting for you?

I’m excited to be more involved in my department. We’ve got great people in the math division, and I’m looking forward to seeing more of them and being more in the thick of things.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?

Walk down to the river at least once a week while the weather is nice. I keep meaning to go, and then I never do.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

Being the first person in my family to finish a bachelor’s degree, writing a science fiction story that was selected for a best-of-the-year anthology, and teaching in Honduras for a year.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be?

Sara without the H. It’d be very easy for everyone to remember, and it’d be stealthy, because no one except us would realize it was a nickname at all.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?

I would give a brief lecture entitled Simple HTML as a Relaxation Technique.

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?

Gallivanting Reindeer Endeavor Ever North

Leave a Reply

