New Employee Spotlight – Lady Ivory Boyd

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.Boyd, Lady Ivory

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.

Hello everyone. I’m Lady Ivory Boyd, and I am excited to join the team of professional staff at Green River College and fill the position of Educational Planner. Prior to joining Green River, I have served professionally in higher education in various capacities. A few of my recent professional endeavors include serving as Academic Advisor for the College of Health Sciences at Boise State University, Assistant Director/Senior Program Advisor for University of New Mexico’s TRIO McNair Scholars and Research Opportunity Programs, and Senior Lead Admissions Advisor at Trident University International. Prior to these positions, I served in roles of advising and program coordinating for the Department of Psychology and the Career Opportunities in Research (NIMH-COR) Program at California State University Long Beach. I also assisted in teaching introductory statistics for the social sciences at Cerritos Community College. Other professional roles I have served outside of higher education include working as a paraprofessional mental health counselor, certified women’s domestic violence facilitator, K-12 tutor, and working with special needs youth as a behavioral therapist and Y-inclusion facilitator for the YMCA.

What drew you to apply to Green River?

When I first researched Green River’s mission statement, departments, programs, student demographics, and published articles from staff members and leaders via the college website; I got a clear sense that collectively, there was a strong spirit of collaboration across the board to work together to engage students and help them achieve academic success. This sense of community is centered on compassionate student service, which is reflected in Green River’s motto “Think Student-Then Decide.” Because I share the same core values of serving the best interest of each individual student; I was naturally drawn to the community at Green River College. Today, I am honored to have this opportunity to join the Green River team, and I look forward to working together via innovative collaboration with the staff and students at Green River to help improve our community through academic excellence.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?

Air 1 Positive Hits

What was the very first job you ever had?

Cashier at KFC

What about your new position is most exciting for you?

I am most excited about collaborating with awesome and compassionate staff at Green River, and work together with our wonderful students to help them discover their potential and achieve their goals.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?

I want to learn from as many staff and students as much as possible so I can get to know my students and best serve their needs.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

From a professional career perspective, I would say #1 is using my education to give back by serving others in a way that helps them grow personally and professionally. I would not be in a position to help others today without having received support from others myself, as I persevered through some of the most challenging moments of my academic career. Which leads me to # 2, when I earned my academic degrees (from high school to graduate school), and #3 earning scholarships/awards and or job offers/promotions I applied for and worked hard to achieve.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be?

“Max’s mom,” because I have a sweet, calm and loving golden fur child that I was allowed to bring to work; he would follow me around, quietly curl up under my desk, or bring joy to my colleagues who needed a stress break, and even help with program outreach/recruitment at tabled events.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?

I like to dance, write poetry and songs. I can sing my songs but I’m not that good of a singer.

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?

Give unconditional love and Respect even when you agree to disagree, in order to build Enriching relationships that Empower and Nurture a positive environment.

Leave a Reply

