New Employee Spotlight – Aileen Arsenio

Arsenio, AileenWe’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.

My new title is Program Coordinator for the Career and Advising Services. I have about 2 years of experience working in student services at Olympic College, first as an Office Assistant for the Multicultural and Student Programs, and later as the Program Assistant for Tutoring Services. Both jobs really solidified my passion to provide students with the essential resources they need to be successful during their time in college.

What drew you to apply to Green River?

When I saw that Green River Community College was hiring for a Program Coordinator in their Career and Advising Services office, I knew I had to apply because I hope to one day become an academic advisor. I knew this would be a great way to get a little taste of the advising life!

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?

I can literally listen to anything, but when I’m in the car, it MUST be something I can either sing to or wiggle to (because dancing is dangerous when you’re driving). I do have a “no skip” rule on anything *NSYNC, Whitney Houston, Celine Dion, Adele, and Beyoncé.

What was the very first job you ever had?

Being the oldest cousin/sibling, my first paying job was babysitting my cousins and siblings, starting at the age of 11. It was a sweet $40 a week!

What about your new position is most exciting for you?

I think the most exciting thing is being able to meet students in all stages of their academic careers, whether it be students just starting their journey, to those coming back to school to broaden their horizons. It’s always cool listening to someone’s stories and helping them reach their goals and dreams!

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?

By the end of my first year, I would like to be a jack of all trades in the office, to the point where my coworkers and even students are comfortable enough to know that they can ask me for help.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

Three of my biggest accomplishments in life are: Being the first to graduate college in my family, being recognized by my peers for my hard work and leadership, and I promise I am not just saying this, but getting this job was an accomplishment because it’s my first full-time position!

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be?

I’m going to go ahead and say “Foodie” because yes, I am that girl that posts pictures of her food; I also love to bake and cook.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?

I am not the greatest, but I love to sing and play my ukulele

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?

Growing, Resourceful, Equitable, Environmental, Nurturing

Leave a Reply

