New Employee Spotlight – Mollie Jones

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.Jones, Mollie

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.

My new title is Coordinator for Recreation and Athletics. I graduated in May 2015 with a Master of Science in Organizational Management with a focus in Sports Management. I have held many different recreation/athletic positions including Graduate Assistant of Athletics at Chadron State College in Chadron, NE, Building Supervisor and Rec Assistant with the City of Longmont, Recreation Leader I with the City of Fife, and I also have 8 years of customer service experience that I gained working as a barista in many different coffee shops.

What drew you to apply to Green River?

I applied to Green River because I have wanted to work in higher education since I graduated. I was on a college campus for six years as an undergrad and graduate student and had amazing experiences. Because of that, I decided I wanted to pursue a career on a college campus to become part of a team. The position was exactly what I have been looking for and I love the campus. I just recently moved to Washington in July, so I had never been to the campus before but I was definitely excited when I visited for the first time.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?

On my car ride to work I listen to something different every day. I honestly love a wide array of music. Growing up I always listened to country music and that hasn’t changed. Right now I love Tim Mcgraw, Blake Shelton, Florida Georgia Line, The Band Perry, and Miranda Lambert. If I am not in a country music mood I will turn on Pandora and listen to 80’s Rock Radio, Journey Radio, Coffee Shop Soundtrack Radio, 90’s Pop Radio, 90’s Country Radio, Kesha Radio, and more. No matter what I am listening to it is going to be loud in my car!

What was the very first job you ever had?

The first job I ever had was working as a barista at Ziggis Coffee in my hometown, Longmont, Colorado. I started when I was 16 years old and my boss put my name in the computer as “Shy Girl.” This name printed on the receipt of every customer I helped until I could finally prove to my boss that I wasn’t shy anymore. This took me awhile but I will never forget the day I logged in and it actually said my name. That was a great day!

What about your new position is most exciting for you?

What I find most exciting about my new position is the fact that I get to work in a brand new recreation facility. It sounds like the students are very excited about having a space like this on campus that all students can use and that is something I can really relate to. As a student, I spent a ton of time in our recreation and athletic facilities not only as a student athlete, but even when I finished my volleyball career. Being in this type of environment feels like home to me and I am so excited to bring this to the students at Green River.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?

In my first year at Green River a major goal I have to is to get as many students into the RAC as possible, whether that is an environment they would normally come to or not. In order to do this I will have to provide many different kinds of programs to reach out to everyone. I also want to focus on building relationships with my colleagues. I believe that my success depends on how well I am able to work with others.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

Three accomplishments I am most proud of in my life are one, maintaining close relationships with my family and friends even with a lot of distance between us, finishing my Master’s Degree by the age of 24, and finishing my collegiate volleyball career and exhausting my NCAA eligibility.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be?

An office nickname I have had in the past was “Jolly” instead of Mollie. This is because I try not to take life too seriously and I often like to laugh things off and have a smile on my face.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?

A hidden talent that I would showcase would be my ability to put down a very large Chipotle burrito without any struggle at all.

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?

Grow                           I chose these words to describe how I feel about my new position.

Rise

Energy

Excitement

Nestled

Leave a Reply

