New Employee Spotlight – Fredrisha Bennett

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.
Bennett, Fredrisha (Trish)2

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.

Hello all! My name is Fredrisha but I prefer to be called Trish. I will be the new Office Assistant 2 for the Lindbloom Student Union. My professional background involves several positions that I’ve held with Ashford University in Clinton, IA. I first started out as an Enrollment Advisor and held this position for 1.5 years. I then moved into the Student Services department working as an Academic Advisor. After some organizational change, the Academic Advisor position became the role of Student Advisor. As a Student Advisor I was responsible for assisting students with both their academic and financial progression through their program. After being in the Student Advisor position for almost a year, I was promoted to a Lead Student Advisor.

What drew you to apply to Green River?

I applied with Green River College because of its sound history in education. In addition, working at Green River would give me the opportunity to work on campus and have face-to-face interaction with students. This differed from my roles with Ashford University as I worked primarily in an online environment.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?

On my commute to work I listen to either Movin 92.5 or KISS 106.1. Great stations to get me pumped up for the day!

What was the very first job you ever had?

My first job was a Sport Recreation Lead for Metro Parks Tacoma. During the summers I would travel from park to park leading kids through recreational activities. I had an absolute blast while in this role and was able to hold the position for 2 consecutive summers while attending Washington State University.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?

Again, to have the ability to work in a campus environment with interaction with students and members of my team and other departments is what I find exciting. In addition, I’m excited for the opportunity to work in the newly constructed Lindbloom Student Union building.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?

I would like to gain a thorough understanding for the traditions, processes, and procedures that Green River has and see if my previous experiences in education can provide further assistance and/or insight into these areas.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

The first accomplishment that I’m proud of is graduating from Washington State University with a BA in Sports Management. I have been the first person in my family to graduate from a college or university since my father. In 2011 I was honored to receive the 1st Quarter and March awards for IESA (Integrity, Ethics, Service, and Accountability) with Ashford University. This was a huge accomplishment for me at the personal and professional level. The last accomplishment that I’m proud of is receiving my first MA in Organizational Management in 2011, followed by a second MA in Education in 2014.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be?

One nickname that my coworkers would call me is Fred or Freddy based off of my full name, Fredrisha.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?

I would showcase “Trish, the Pet Whisperer”.

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?

Gratitude

Resourceful

Ethical

Educational

Navigational

Leave a Reply

