New Employee Spotlight – Derek Ronnfeldt

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.Ronnfeldt, Derek

My new title is Director of Campus Safety and Parking/Transportation. Before coming to Green River, I worked at the Illinois State University Police Department for over 27 years as the Detective Commander for Criminal Investigations.  I’ve also been an instructor for a class called Verbal Judo for the last 8 years, which trains professionals on how to communicate with people in high pressure encounters.

What drew you to apply to Green River?

The community and the extracurricular activities for my family. I was looking for a college setting that was situated in a good community for my family.  The Auburn area fit all of our criteria plus some.  With all the outdoor activities:  hiking, biking, sightseeing, etc., we couldn’t have asked for a better place than Green River.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?

I listen to several stations on Sirius….Country, Talk Radio, ‘70s.

What was the very first job you ever had?

I was a lifeguard from 15 yrs. old through college.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?

I love working in a college setting and having new responsibilities and being part of a team.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?

Being that my department is oftentimes the first contact our guests and students have, I would like them to view their time with us as inviting and feeling genuinely welcomed.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

I have no way of ranking my accomplishments. God has blessed me a multitude of ways in regards to my family and my work.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be?

I can think of two that I’ve actually been called over the years. The first is “Ofc Friendly”, because I was always given the phone calls of irate “customers” to calm them down and help with rectifying situations.  The second is “cereal guy”, because I’ve been known to have several boxes of cereal stashed in my office for my lunch/breakfast break.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?

I have a pretty solid K/D ratio for Call of Duty on Xbox (my wife says this isn’t a talent!)

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?

Greatest

Ranked

Educational

Establishment

‘Nuff said!

Leave a Reply

