New Employee Spotlight – Nicky Khai

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

Khai, Sokcheath (Nicky)
Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.

I’m your new HR Consultant 3 for Green River College. Over the past 13 years, I’ve been at Seattle Central College working in Human Resources.  I specialize in part time faculty leave and serving employees on many capacities (onboarding, compensation, recruitment, payroll etc.). Way back before my HR profession, I was an academic advisor.  I have a Bachelor of Arts in Ethnic & Labor Studies.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
The commute time and of course my wonderful soon to be co-workers (Amazing HR profiles)!

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
It all depends on what’s on the radio, but I usually listen to KOMO radio –I try to keep up   with the news.

What was the very first job you ever had?
My first job ever was at KFC. I think food was my motivator! Who doesn’t love fried food?

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
I look forward to learning from my co-workers and getting to enjoy the beautiful green campus!

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
Hard question. Ask me a year from now. The first year, I like to learn as much as I can    about my position and do a great job. Hopefully from there I can help faculty and staff.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?
I’m a problem solver – anytime I can help someone find an answer, learn or smile, it’s always an accomplishment.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be? Why?
Nicknack – because I like to bring snacks to work and share with my coworkers.

If G.R.E.E.N. where an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?

Great to be alive
Ready to learn
Evolving always
Everyday
Never, never, give up! (Winston Churchill)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

