New Employee Spotlight – Christopher Moe

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.Moe, Christopher
Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
My new position at Green River College will be Custodian 2. In the past I have worked many different professions ranging from Union painter, newspaper pressroom worker, as well as working as custodial / building maintenance for one of the largest motorcycle dealerships in Washington state.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
Being a previous student of Green River College, I have always considered it to be a dream of mine to become a faculty member of a campus I care deeply about, so when I seen the job posting, I couldn’t help but to try and make that dream a reality.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
My current commute is less than 3 miles so I usually just listen to the sound of my car(modified 2007 Subaru Impreza). However, my commute to Green River will be a little bit further so I will probably just turn Pandora on shuffle.

What was the very first job you ever had?
The very first job I ever had was at the age of fifteen working at Johnny Rockets as a fountain drink runner.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
I believe the most exciting part of my new position will be the ability to contribute to the upkeep and cleanliness of a campus that myself and many of my friends and family members have attended in the past. As well as the ability to attend classes and further my education without an additional commute.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
Within my first year at Green River I’d love to memorize the campus and as many faculty members names as possible. I would also love to start attending classes again and furthering my education.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?
-Being married to my beautiful wife of eight years
-Becoming a new home owner as of May 2015
-Becoming a full time staff member of Green River College

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be? Why?
More than likely my nickname would probably end up being “Smiley,” simply because I always have a smile on my face and try my best to get everyone around me to smile as well.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
I have a feeling that my talent showcase would consist of me cooking something. Probably, it would be one of my favorite pasta dishes like “home made beef stroganoff” or my favorite breakfast dish, “Bacon, egg and cheese toast cups,” or maybe even my famous tater tot casserole.

If G.R.E.E.N. where an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?
G
reat
Resources
Every
Employee
Needs

Leave a Reply

