New Employee Spotlight – Rebecca Jarvis

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.Jarvis, Rebecca
Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
I am the new Program Coordinator of the Welcome Center. I have been working at Green River since June of 2015 working in Assessment and Testing. I studied Sociology at Seattle Pacific University where I received my Bachelor’s degree. My hopes are to pursue a career in higher education. I am blessed with the opportunity Green River has given me and am excited for this new chapter of my professional career.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
I knew I wanted to work in higher education and Green River seemed like it would be the perfect fit. I remember coming to campus as a high school student and thinking that this seemed like a great environment for both students and faculty. Out of all of the colleges in the surrounding area, there is something special about Green River. Our campus is unlike any other in the sense that we are located on acres and acres of forested land. Seeing as how I am an outdoorsy person, this is very appealing to me.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
It depends on my mood, but more often than not I am listening to Movin 92.5.

What was the very first job you ever had?
Other than babysitting, my first real job was at Hallmark in the South Hill Mall. Although that’s not a place you would imagine a high schooler wanting to work at, it was fun because both my mom and sister worked with me as well.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
The most exciting aspect of my job is getting to work with a variety of students every day.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
In my first year at Green River I would love to be able to have a concrete understanding of all the programs we offer in order to be able to best serve our students and to be able to develop good relationships with employees in other departments across campus.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?
One: Graduating with Honors from Seattle Pacific University
Two: Winning Regionals and Placing 5th at Nationals with my fastpitch team.
Three: Marrying my Husband

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be? Why?
It would have to be Lil Fella. One of my old co-workers used to call me that and still does call me that all the time. She was my work mom and I was her lil fella.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
I am not sure if this really counts as a talent (some may call it an injury), but I can pop my right shoulder on command.

If G.R.E.E.N. where an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?
G
iving
Radiant
Energy
Explore
Nature

Leave a Reply

