New Emloyee Spotlight – Kathryn Stuart

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.Stuart, Kathryn
Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
I am Program Site Manager for the Natural Resources BAS Degree. I earned my B.S. and Ph.D. from the University of Washington School of Forest Resources and studied conservation and ecology of the Western Gray Squirrel in the North Cascades for my dissertation. I have worked as a teaching assistant for several natural resources classes, a Park Ranger at Mount Rainier National Park, an environmental educator at Padilla Bay National Estuarine Research Reserve, and an outdoor school instructor for REI.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
One of the field assistants I hired for my doctoral research in the North Cascades was a student in the Natural Resources program at Green River. He was a fantastic assistant and had great things to say about the Green River program.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
I toggle between classic rock and dance. I also teach group fitness so sometimes I’m practicing choreography on the way to and from work.

What was the very first job you ever had?
Adventure Zone (Kids Club) Attendant and Lifeguard at the YMCA.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
Getting to work in a fast paced college environment again and wear many hats. Every day has been a fun new learning experience so far!

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
Help recruit a full cohort of students to the Natural Resources BAS program.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?
One: Completing my doctoral degree.
Two: Summiting Mount Chopicalqui in Peru: 20,817 ft.
Three: My family: husband Ben and 2 kids: Ellinor 4, Henry 2

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be? Why?
Squirrel girl because of the 5 years I spent studying squirrels for my doctoral degree. I always have a random squirrel fact on hand!

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
Piccolo. I played in the Husky Marching Band in college.

If G.R.E.E.N. where an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?

Growth: I am always striving to grow as a person
Rainier: My favorite place, where I got married, my son’s middle name
Ellinor: The first mountain I climbed and my daughter’s name
Energy: I am active and energetic
Natural Resources: My home at Green River College

Leave a Reply

