New Employee Spotlight – Michael Clark

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.Clark, Michael
Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
I was hired as a Custodian 2 after working for 7 years at TCC as a Custodian 1, but before that I’ve worked for DOT (Department of Transportation). Also, I worked on the tide flats at Pennwalt Chemical Company for several years.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
The opportunity to work as a Custodian 2 and take on more responsibilities and be of more assistance.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
Believe it or not, classical music. It calms me as people cut me off in traffic. Also, the usual 104.9 KUBE and 89.9 KGRG.

What was the very first job you ever had?
Working at my grandfather’s restaurant Bob’s BBQ. Stacking wood and balling up newspaper for the fire pit. I also bottles sauce which he would sell at the local Safeway store and a few small mom and pop markets.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
We have an amazing management team which allows for me to be part of a team and to grow and learn new equipment to help our job be more efficient. Thanks Rob, Dan, and Mack. Oh yeah, Pie-Yon and Bart too!

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
To continue to work and get to know as many people her at GRC and assist the college by doing my job to the best of my ability.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?
Owning and operating my family restaurant, my mother, myself and my brother for 27 years. Painting over 500 cars and trucks And first and foremost my relationship with Jesus Christ, and family and friends.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be? Why?
Well I really enjoy working for him — mini Mack would be cool.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
Wow, so when I was younger I loved Evil Knievil, so one day I jumped a Volkswagen that was abandoned in the woods, I made the ramp myself and charged my school mates to watch.

If G.R.E.E.N. where an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?

Great
Reason to
Educate you for
Employment advancement and
New beginnings

Leave a Reply

