New Employee Spotlight – Philip Denman

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.
Denman, Philip
Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
My name is Philip Denman and I’m the new Assistant Director of College Relations. I earned my BA in Communications from Washington State University (Go Cougs!) and my Masters in Public Administration from the University of Colorado. Prior to joining the Green River team, I served as the Assistant Director of University Communications and Media Relations team at the University of Colorado – Colorado Springs.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
While I loved Colorado, my wife and I were both anxious to return to Washington. My wife – who is originally from Kent – accepted a new position in Tacoma so we packed up and headed west. I knew I wanted to stay in higher education and at the time my brother-in-law was attending Green River after his time in the military. Once I visited campus and saw how beautiful it was, I was hooked.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
Either a podcast (Top 3: Nerdist, Dan Carlin’s Hardcore History, and the Adam Savage Project) or an audiobook (Currently: A Song of Ice and Fire).

What was the very first job you ever had?
I worked at a Coldstone Creamery throughout highschool. And before you ask, no, I don’t remember any of the jingles!

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
I’m really looking forward to getting to know the faculty and staff that make this campus such a wonderful place for our students to attend. I love meeting new people, and the only way to be successful in this position is to throw yourself out there and start making those connections.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
Remember everyone’s names! Kidding aside, we’re in the process of giving the CommuniGator a facelift and I’m excited to highlight all the wonderful things our faculty, staff and students are doing.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

  • Earning my MPA: Neither of my parents graduated college so it was a big deal to attend and complete graduate school.
  • Being a Division I NCAA sports photographer: There is no better place to watch a game than from the sidelines! Though I did lose a pair of prescription sunglasses after evading a USC defensive lineman running out of bounds. If you think those guys look big on TV, you should see them in person.
  • Studying abroad: During my junior year of college I packed up and moved to New Zealand for 6 months. It was a life changing experience. The country is as beautiful in person as the Lord of the Rings movies make it out to be, and the people are so welcoming. 

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be? Why?
Probably “that nerd” because my desk is covered in a variety of Star Wars, Lord of the Rings and Portal action figures and Legos.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
I brew my own beer, so I’d bring a case of that in and hope it sways the judge’s into giving me first place.

If G.R.E.E.N. where an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?

Got
Recommendations for
Exciting
Eateries?
Nom nom nom

Leave a Reply

