New Employee Spotlight – Andrew Turgeon

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.
Turgeon, Andrew
Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
I am an International Student Advisor. Before working at Green River, I was Assistant Director of Enrollment Services at Associates in Cultural Exchange and then worked as an International Student Advisor at Seattle Central College.  I also wrote reference content for National Geographic Education, covering topics ranging from typhoons to the Great Pacific Garbage Patch. Currently, I am completing a master’s degree in International Education from the School for International Training.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
I worked in international student advising in Seattle before and met many Green River employees and attended their workshops at conferences. I always appreciated their friendliness, their innovative ideas, and their clear commitment to international student success.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
I listen to KUOW, KEXP, and podcasts like Risk, Invisibilia, and 2 Dope Queens. I also love pop music and classic rock.

What was the very first job you ever had?
At 14, I started working at the Vermont Confectionary. I made chocolate pops, filled candy jars, scooped ice cream, and cut cheese.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
I am most excited to collaborate with my fellow advisors and other Green River staff to support international students in their academic, social, and personal development.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
I would love to work on programming that connects international students with local students.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

  • Winning a slam poetry competition at 15. I was a very shy student and I found my voice through poetry. I will never forget the loud cheers ringing in my ears after I finished presenting my poem. After that experience, I went on to write and perform more poetry and also performed in plays and musicals.
  • Completing a year as an international exchange student in Lima, Peru. As a teenager from a rural town, I found it difficult to adjust to life in a large foreign city. I am so glad that I stayed for the entire year; I learned so much about myself, my own cultural background, and the amazing people and places of Peru.
  • Giving a speech at my sister’s wedding. My sister was just recently married and she means the world to me.  We both love music so I wrote a speech that incorporated short clips from some of our favorite songs.  People laughed! They cried! But I cried the most. 

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be? Why?
My nickname would “Zen Master” because I remain calm during difficult situations and I am a patient listener. On the other hand, they may name me “DJ Andrew” because I love to throw dance parties and encourage people to move and have fun.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
I was part of a whistling acapella group in college. I can whistle the entirety of “Bohemian Rhapsody” if you ask me nicely.

If G.R.E.E.N. where an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?

Gracious
Resilient
Energetic
Engaged
Natural

Leave a Reply

