New Employee Spotlight – Eun Hee “Clara” Park

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.
Park, Eun Hee (Clara)2

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
My title is IESL Student Advisor, and I am working within International Programs. For the past year, I’ve been in this role part-time and am excited to be coming aboard full-time. Before I came to Green River, I was at the University of Pennsylvania pursuing an M.S. Ed. in Higher Education while working at Haverford College as an academic consultant. Before that, I taught math in middle school and worked at a test prep center!

What drew you to apply to Green River?
I had applied for an AmeriCorps position at Green River years ago – I had been accepted for the position, but the grant fell through at the last minute. Even though the position didn’t work out, I remember having really good feelings about the atmosphere and the people!

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
Podcasts – ranging from recent news in higher education to Korean comedy.

What was the very first job you ever had?
My very first job was probably a tutoring job. I tutored almost half my life!

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
The most exciting part of my job is coming up with new ideas with our team. We are currently working on student engagement within the IESL program, and we’re excited to get students active and involved outside of the classrooms!

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
I’d like to collaborate across campus and get to know more faces outside of International Programs.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

  • Getting my graduate degree! The ten months I spent in Philadelphia were probably the most emotionally draining ten months of my life – I think there was a point in the final stretch where I wanted to come back home, but with the support of family and friends, I was able to complete the program. Being the first to attend graduate school in my family was a huge accomplishment for me.
  • Changing majors in college! My parents thought I was going to medical school ever since I was a baby, so the day I told them I wanted to pursue education was not a good day. I had studied natural sciences (without much interest) all throughout the first couple years of college, but then decided to pursue psychology and music – one of the best decisions of my life. I remember feeling as if I had let them down, but now, they are my biggest supporters.
  • Getting married! My friends thought I would be the lonely cat lady yelling at kids on the front porch, so it was a huge surprise when I started dating my husband. We recently got married and spent a week in Bali for our honeymoon!

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be? Why?
“Neat-freak” is the go-to nickname that I’ve been given everywhere else. I’m not crazy neat, but I do like to have things placed in a certain way, especially on my desk.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
I would probably set up shop and write everyone’s names with a pointed pen. I picked up calligraphy a year ago, and I’ve been doing commissioned work for the past six months!

If G.R.E.E.N. where an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?
A Gentle Reminder that Equity in Education is Needed.

Leave a Reply

