New Employee Spotlight – Laura Lowe

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.
Lowe, Laura2
Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
My new title is Director of Procurement. I’ve worked in procurement for the State of Washington for over 25 years.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
I’ve always been impressed with our state’s community college system. I’m inspired by people who study and learn.  I just had to apply for a job where I could use my professional skills and work in a learning environment!

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
I like audio books, NPR and 107.7 The End.

What was the very first job you ever had?
I worked in food prep at the University of Washington student union building.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
I’m excited to get to know, and work with my new co-workers.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
Along with continuing to provide excellent procurement services, I’ll work hard to become an accomplished ctcLink user.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

  • Raising my two sons
  • Helping my older son become an Olympic athlete
  • Being a good family member and friend

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be? Why?
It would have to be something to do with smiling. I smile a lot.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
I’d discover an unrealized talent for the fiddle or banjo and play some bluegrass.

If G.R.E.E.N. where an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?
Grow and Reach every day. Educate yourself. Enjoy life.  Nurture family and friends.

Leave a Reply

