New Employee Spotlight – Aileen Velasquez-Soto

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.
velasquez-soto-aileen
Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
My name is Aileen Velasquez-Soto, and I am the new administrative assistant for the facilities department. I just graduated from the University of Washington with my degree in Communications, and I am beyond excited to start working at Green River.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
I used to be a student at Green River. I started right after high school and graduated in 2014. When I saw the position open I knew I had to apply. Being part of a college, though, has taught me so much and is what made me apply.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
I like to start my morning with something that gets me excited for the day. It can be country, pop, or anything in between.

What was the very first job you ever had?
My first job was in high school. I worked at a McDonalds close to my home. I met some great people there, and it taught me the fundamentals of what it takes to be a great employee.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
I think the most exciting part about my new position is being back on campus. I love the environment at Green River and can’t wait to be back.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
I can’t wait to just learn. I know I am going to be working with some great people in the facilities department, and I can’t wait to learn from them and help them in anyway I can.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?
My greatest accomplishments so far are:

  1. Being the first in my family to graduate from college.
  2. Going to school and working full time while managing good grades.
  3. Being chosen to study abroad in Spain and experiencing a new culture, meeting new people, and interning at a great place

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be? Why?
People usually call me A or Velasquez. It’s just something that has stuck with me since I was younger.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
I love to take pictures. Photography is a new hobby of mine. So, if we had a talent show, I would showcase some images.

If G.R.E.E.N. where an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?

Great school
Respectable people
Energetic students and staff
Exciting environment
New place for opportunities

Leave a Reply

