New Employee Spotlight – Sean Taggart

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words. taggart-seanPlease tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
My name is Sean Taggart, and I am the new Assistant Director of Campus Safety, Parking and Transportation. My professional background spans 20 years and includes security, safety and transportation experience in a wide range of environments including educational institutions, Fortune 500 companies, 5 star hotels and resorts and many others. I hold a Bachelor’s Degree in Criminal Justice and will complete my Master’s Degree in Security Studies in October. I also hold a Certified Protection Professional certification through ASIS.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
The campus and the people are what drew me to Green River College. From the moment I stepped foot on the campus I was made to feel welcome. In addition, the opportunities that this position has to offer are a perfect match to my experience, training and education.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
Being from Texas, I tend to listen to a lot a country music traveling back and forth to work.

What was the very first job you ever had?
My very first job was working as a camp counselor for a large Boy Scout camp in Bastrop, TX.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
The fact that this is a new position is very exciting. Along with that, the fact that I will be able to work with a wonderful group of individuals was an incentive to accepting this position.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
In my first year I would hope to gain a deep understanding of the school’s culture and people and how in my role in Safety, Parking and Transportation I can best serve them.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?
My biggest 3 accomplishments in life would have to first be my wife and our marriage, second would be obtaining my master’s degree this fall, and third would be where I am in my professional career

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be? Why?
Chef, because I love to cook.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
Live cooking demonstration.

If G.R.E.E.N. where an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?

Great
Ripe
E
nvironment
E
ducating
Nations

Leave a Reply

