New Employee Spotlight – Amanda Thomas

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

thomas-amanda

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
I am a Workforce Coordinator. In my previous position I was an Office Assistant at Workforce Education. Most of my professional jobs have dealt with retail.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
I already enjoyed working part-time as an employee in the Workforce Education Department. When I found out about the new position, it was a no-brainer to apply.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
It depends on my mood in that moment. It could be: Sports Talk Radio, Podcasts, Country Music, 90’s Hip-Hop, Motown, Classical Music, Soft Rock, Pop, Christian Music and NPR.

What was the very first job you ever had?
I started working when I was 16 at TJ Maxx as a cashier.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
I am excited to inspire students to reach their full potential.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
I want to engage, listen and find solutions to students’ barriers that prevent them from reaching their goals.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

  1. My close relationship with my family
  2. My experience in working with challenging students
  3. DIY projects

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be? Why?
I have no idea.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
I would say my talent would be a dance number.

If G.R.E.E.N. where an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?

God
Rise Up
E
ducation is the most powerful weapon (Nelson Mandela)
E
ncounter many defeats, but we must not be defeated (Maya Angelou)
Nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you (Marianne Williams)

Leave a Reply

