New Employee Spotlight – Jenee Stanfield

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words.

stanfield-jenee

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
My new title is Program Assistant for IESL on the Kent Campus. I started my career in education as the lead writing consultant for Highline College’s Writing Center. I continued working in higher education as a housing coordinator for Kaplan International English, placing international students with American host families. Most recently, I taught English to K-12 students at a learning center in Bellevue.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
I’m passionate about connecting with and serving students. I love helping to support others in their educational goals, especially international students, and Green River is the perfect opportunity for me to do that.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
When I’m driving into work, I’m usually listening to NPR. I’m a big news-junkie. It’s important to me to know what’s going on in the world.

What was the very first job you ever had?
My first job was running concession stands for Kent Little League. I loved watching the games, and getting free hot dogs was definitely a plus!

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
It’s always exciting to meet people from all over the world and learn more about their cultures. That’s something that I loved about working with international students before and that I’m looking forward to enjoying in my new position in the IESL office.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
I’m in a very unique position as the first full-time program assistant for IESL on the Kent Campus, so it’s important to me in this first year to make this job my own and to learn how to best support a team working across multiple campuses.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

  1. The first accomplishment I am most proud of is being the first person in my family to receive a bachelor’s degree.
  2. The second accomplishment is receiving my MFA in Creative Writing and being able to finish my thesis during a particularly chaotic year, which involved leaving my job, getting married, and moving.
  3. The third accomplishment I am most proud of is the meaningful relationships that I’ve been able to build with students.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be? Why?
My office nickname would probably be something like “smiley.” I’m a habitual smiler, even when I’m not paying attention.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
I’m a prose writer, so I suppose I could tell everyone a story.

If G.R.E.E.N. where an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?

Genuine
Responsiveness
E
ducational
E
ncouragement
Nurturing

Leave a Reply

