New Employee Spotlight – Shaunie Decker

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words. decker-shaunie

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
I have just been hired as the High School Completion Full-Time Instructor, Tenure Track, having taught at Green River for about 3 years.  I began as the first iGrad instructor at the Kent East Hill location and then began teaching GED, ABE and HS21+ on the main campus.  I have been in the community college system for about 10 years working at North Seattle, South Seattle, Renton Tech and finally, here at Green River.  My bachelor’s degree is in social science and my master’s degree is in adult education and distance learning. Teaching is my passion.  It is a privilege to help students achieve their educational goals. I feel fortunate to have a career that brings me so much personal satisfaction.  

What drew you to apply to Green River?
Even before working here, I heard of Green River’s reputation for having a top notch ABE program and once I arrived, I felt immediately at home. Everyone I work with is so supportive and makes this an enjoyable workplace. I feel a sense of comradery with all of the faculty and staff in my department.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
I have recently taken up listening to audio books in the car. My favorite read lately was, “The Boys in the Boat”, about the UW rowing team that competed in the 1936 Olympics.   I am also a sucker for a certain radio station known for making prank phone calls.

What was the very first job you ever had?
My first job was dusting shelves at my father’s grocery store when I was 9 years old.   From there, I worked up to butcher’s assistant and finally, cashier.  While it wasn’t always easy to work for my dad (I recall getting fired once in third grade), it instilled in me a strong work ethic.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
I am looking forward to spending all day, every day, doing what I love.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
I want to get on a first name basis with individuals throughout multiple departments on campus.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

  1. My 3 children
  2. Completing 10 marathons
  3. Achieving the dream of living in Hawaii for a period

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be? Why?
One of my previous employers dubbed me, “The Bulldog.” Whether that was because of my height, or my tenacity, I am not sure, but it was probably both!

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
I can’t say that I have a stage-worthy talent per se, but I do enjoy sewing and have taught many kids in my community how to sew.

If G.R.E.E.N. where an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?

Gregarious
Runners
Exude
E
nergy
Naturally

Leave a Reply

