New Employee Spotlight – Michael Macon

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words. macon-michael

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
I’ve been hired as a Math Tenure Track Instructor. I have a B.A and M.A. in mathematics, and I have about 10 years experience teaching math at the high school and college levels in New York City and the San Francisco Bay Area.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
I wanted to work in higher education, and was interested in working in Washington state. I scoped out Green River, and loved the campus and people that I met.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
I listen to various podcasts or music from my collection–swing jazz, country blues, Bob Dylan etc.

What was the very first job you ever had?
When I was 12 years old I had a job in a local delicatessen in New Jersey, where I grew up. I washed dishes, did mopping, sweeping up, cleaning tables, etc.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
I am most excited to meet and work with new people, colleagues and students.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
I’d love to give each one of my students an exciting learning experience and motivate them to work towards great success in their studies. I would also love to get to know the people and culture at Green River, and see how I can fit in and contribute.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?
I’m most proud of my family. I’m a pretty good musician. I’ve also cultivated an adventurous and curious mind.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be? Why?
Lefty–I’m left-handed.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
I would sing, play piano, guitar & harmonica. I’ve also been known to bust out some dance moves from time to time.

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?
As my wife often reminds me, “Greatness rarely entails excessive napping.”

Leave a Reply

