New Employee Spotlight – Michael Wood

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words. wood-michael

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
Hello, my name is Michael A. Wood, and I have just recently been honored by being allowed to accept the new Engineering Tenure Track position at Green River College. I have been teaching since the first year I left Colorado State University nearly 20 years ago. I began by teaching Mathematics for nearly 15 years at which point my wife and I decided to move to the state of Washington where I spent a year teaching High School Mathematics getting my feet on the ground in the new state, and at which point I began teaching I.T. as an adjunct at GRC. During my adjunct time, while I spent a great deal of time teaching in the I.T. Department, I was also privileged to have a chance to work/teach in both the Engineering/Computer Science department and in the Mathematics division.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
After my time teaching High School, I wanted to shake myself up a little bit and try to stretch my abilities some. So I decided to jump outside my comfort zone of teaching Mathematics and try teaching some computer science/IT at a college setting.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
I tend to be very involved with learning new stuff, so it tends to be some sort of podcast about current events or scientific ideas. I will also admit to a bit of a nerd/geek leaning, so there might be a gaming podcast mixed in there as well.

On the rare case it is musical, it tends to be something instrumental without words.

What was the very first job you ever had?
My very first job when I was 16 was working as an I.T. person for my school technology division. I would spend 2-3 hours after school every day driving to various elementary/middle/high schools fixing computers, and then during the summer going around to clean out the computer of all the gum/gunk/dust.  Let me tell you, elementary students can fit some nasty things inside a computer.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
I am excited to be able to work with several different departments and try to find a way to work/combine the joy of computer science to the other departments.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
I would love to be able to work with the IT department and develop an integrated approach to teaching programming that can bridge both departments and increase the shared load of both departments.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

  1. Marrying my wife,
  2. going back to get my master’s in applied Mathematics while still teaching, and
  3. the advancements made by my former students.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be? Why?
The Resource”. I tend not to be too vocal during meetings and activities, but I listen to everything and have the ability to recall a great deal of information, so people in the past have come to me to recall what was said at prior meetings.

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
I honestly don’t know what I would do at a talent show. I would most likely be the one behind the show making sure that everything occurred in an organized manner, keeping the flow going and the acts in line, and then sneaking out before the bows were taken at the end.

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?

Giving
Responsibility
Enough for
Every
Need

Leave a Reply

