New Employee Spotlight – Benjamin Orr

We’d like to take a moment and recognize our newest employees to Green River. Please take a moment to learn more about them, in their own words. orr-benjamin

Please tell everyone your new title and a little bit about your professional background.
Welding Instructor Tenure Track – Fall Quarter 2016. After attending Scott Schreiber’s welding class in 2004. I went out in the real world and began my welding career. I worked for many different companies, some fab shops, manufacturing, and repair shops. In 2013 I was offered a chance to teach for a quarter to fill in for Casper Fox. From that moment on I was hooked on teaching. I then became Casper’s instructional aide for about a year and a half. It was at this point I was offered to teach the weekend welding class as an adjunct. Of course I jumped on it. I’ve been teaching the weekend class for a little over a year now. Since 2013 I have maintained two jobs welding Monday-Friday and Teaching Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. Needless to say but I’m looking forward to just teaching in the fall of 2016.

What drew you to apply to Green River?
I enjoy the people I work with and all the new people I meet each new quarter.

On the car ride to work, what do you listen to?
On the way to work I like to listen to talk radio and news. This keeps me up to date on current events and what’s going on in the world.

What was the very first job you ever had?
My first job was McDonald’s at the age of 16.

What about your new position is most exciting for you?
Right now it’s getting down to one job and having more time to spend with my wife and kids. However, I’m also excited to take on more responsibilities and help grow the welding program.

What is one thing you’d love to accomplish in your first year at Green River?
One thing I would love to accomplish is getting the welding robot class up and running.

What three accomplishments are you most proud of in your life?

  • My wife,
  • my four kids and
  • my career as a welder/teacher.

If your coworkers were to give you an office nickname, what would that be? Why?
I don’t know – something bad, LOL!

For Green River’s annual talent show (this doesn’t actually exist), what hidden talent would you showcase for everyone?
I don’t know. All of my talents are front and center for everyone to see all the time.

If G.R.E.E.N. were an acronym for something, what would each letter stand for?
I got nothing for this one sorry.

Leave a Reply

